ANTI-HARASSMENT WOMEN 'S CELL



The Act will ensure that women are protected against sexual harassment at all the work places, be it in public or private. This will contribute to realisation of their right to gender equality, life and liberty and equality in working conditions everywhere. The sense of security at the workplace will improve women's participation in work, resulting in their economic empowerment and inclusive growth.

The Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013, commonly referred to as the 'PoSH Act' is an Indian law enacted with the objective of making workplaces safer for women by preventing, prohibiting and redressing acts of sexual harassment against them in the workplace. The law was made effective in the whole of India on December 9, 2013, by the Ministry for Women and Child Development.

What is 'Sexual Harassment' under the Act?

Section 2(n) of the Act defines sexual harassment to include the following unwelcome acts:

- i. Physical contact and sexual advances.
- ii. A demand or request for sexual favours.
- iii. Making sexually coloured remarks.
- iv. Showing pornography.
- v. Any other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature.

These acts may be considered unwelcome if the woman expresses her discomfort upon the commission of these acts, or does not consent to them. Additionally, the following circumstances

may amount to sexual harassment if they are connected with any of the acts or behavior mentioned above.

- i. Implied or explicit promise of preferential treatment in employment.
- ii. Implied or explicit threat of detrimental treatment in employment.
- iii. Implied or explicit threat about present or future employment status.
- iv. Interference with work or creating an intimidating or offensive or hostile work environment.
- v. Humiliating treatment likely to affect health or safety.

MEMBERS OF THE CELL

Principal -Ms. Nandini Pathania

- 1. Ms. Anuja Sharma
- 2. Mr. Vijay Sanoria
- 3. Dr. Sapna Shrma
- 4. Dr. Geetanjali Mahindra
- 5. Dr. Savita Rana
- 6. Mr. Ashish Kumar